Fourth Lesson: Drills and Glossaries

I did okay. This is a new thing to feel when walking home from training. I’m not sad or disappointed in myself (I managed to keep to the rules quite well), but not ecstatic either. Hm. Perhaps I’m just getting more used to this.

Let’s jump right into the usual lists. What was included in this lesson?

  1. REVISITING THE THIRD REMEDY MASTER OF THE DAGGER
    My questions from last week get answered
  2. DEFENCE AGAINST SOTTO DAGGER ATTACK
    What to do when a dagger heads for your liver instead of the side of your head
  3. DAGGER DISARM FLOWDRILL
    Stitching the three dagger defences together into one exercise
  4. COUNTERING THE BLOCK TO A MANDRITTO FENDENTE (SWORD)
    A simple parry is not going to defeat a master swordsman
  5. SECOND DRILL ATTACK AND REMEDY
    Blocking a cleaving blow from dente di cinghiaro instead of porta di ferro

Things I’ve Learned

  • You can control your opponent by guiding their attention and so distracting them.
  • How to defend against a sotto dagger attack and how to succeed at disarming a stronger opponent (in theory).
  • Flowdrills have no ends.
  • You can walk through a parry, but you have to shield yourself.
  • Sword fighting exercises can be sorted into series which create drills.

Things I Find Difficult

  • I still can’t spell “cinghiaro“.
  • Not turning the dagger disarm flowdrill into a weird dance.
  • Disarming a stronger opponent (in practice).
  • (Keeping the glossary on this blog up-to-date.)

About the glossary: I’ll get to it eventually. Unfortunately I’m very busy at the moment (you will have noticed this from the infrequency of blog posts, my apologies), and getting the glossary up-to-date is a job I’ll probably only manage to finish once the summer vacation starts (in about a month). Preparing for exams and presentations is taking up most of my energy right now, and then there’s also that final school project to get to…

Comment

