First Lesson: Stick Them With the Pointy End

Sword fighting is totally awesome.

I returned from my first class on medieval swordsmanship alive, happy and totally overwhelmed. My head was bursting at the seams, overflowing with information. Let’s get right down to it. What did my first lesson include?

The answer: enough things for them to be way too much for a single post.

  1. FIRST IMPRESSIONS
    Looking around the school
    Safety comes first
    The book
  2. THE MAGICAL 4
    4 steps
    4 basic attacks / positions
    4 dagger attacks
  3. FALLING AND BALANCE
    The falling exercise
    Balance basics
  4. SWORDS ARE HEAVY
    Basic exercise

Things I’ve Learned

  • “Everybody ends training healthier than they started it.”
  • Fiore dei Liberi was all kinds of awesome.
  • Passare, tomare, accressere, dicressere
  • Posta Longa, Dente di Cinghiaro, Posta Frontale, Porta di Ferro
  • Basic dagger attacks
  • Basic balance
  • Mandritto fendente

Things That I Find Difficult

  • Basic falling
  • Names in Italian
  • Swords are heavy
  • One specific warming-up exercise

(I was first going to put a “Things I Need to Practice” segment here, but then realised I’d have to list everything.)

Comment

